Life: Summer 2017 Plans

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.” – F. Scott Fitzgerald, ‘The Great Gatsby’

IMG_1244

Now, I’m well aware that a lot of people’s summer holidays do not begin until July and some do not even have the luxury of term time holidays anymore (I’m sorry for those with full-time jobs!). However, due to my university term dates, I’ve only got a fortnight or so left until I’m free to do as I please – within reason – until second year begins in September.

Speaking as a busy body, there is no way I can spend 4(ish) months just sitting around doing nothing. I want to earn a few pennies by working, but also don’t want to waste my entire summer only seeing the inside of a pub at my waitress job. So, as a way to make sure I avoid doing just that, here are some things that I’m looking forward to doing and trying to achieve over my summer holiday.

1. Working with young people as part of NCS staff.

Image result for ncs logo

After an interview over the Easter holidays and lots of research about what NCS is all about, I’m excited to have got myself a job as Team Assistant for the National Citizens Service ‘wave’ that is running in my area. As part of this, we take teams of 15-17 year olds on 2 residential trips, one to an activity centre and one to a college, before returning the following week to complete a Social Action Project – a way for the young people to give back to their local community and charities. I’ve never worked with this age of young people before, so I’m excited for the challenges this will present to me too. I would like nothing more than to have a positive influence. I’ll leave a link to NCS here so you can check it out for yourself!

2. Be more confident with my driving.

I passed my driving test in July 2016 (second time lucky) and although I know I am completely capable of driving safely, with or without passengers, I can be nervous when driving. I am very fortunate to have my own car, however, I think some of the nerves come from long periods of not driving whilst I am at university. I plan to bring my car with me in September, but it just hasn’t been possible in first year. For me, it will just be a case of building up my confidence through increasing journey lengths and visiting new places – navigation stresses me out – until I feel better about them. I’ll get there. Hopefully. I want my road trips!!

3. Celebrate my 19th birthday. 

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

I’m very excited to celebrate my birthday this year with some lovely new friends that I’ve made over the last few months, as well as the few that have stuck by me (or can’t get rid of me!) and my family. I’m hoping and praying for good weather, I’d love to have a BBQ with all my nearest and dearest with plenty of food (specifically cake, obviously). I’ve also toyed with the idea of going to food festival in Birmingham, or even West End Live in London – it falls on my birthday weekend, after all. Watch this space. I don’t know what I’m doing yet, but I loved my 18th, and I can’t wait for this year to be even better.

4. Enjoy the weather and free time.

Photo 09-04-2017, 16 26 56

Baking. Reading. Walking. Talking. You name it, I want to do more of it this summer; all I want is to look back on the summer and genuinely say I’ve made the most of it. Uni has made me lazy – it happens to the best of us – and I’m looking forward to kick starting as many activities as I can. I also can’t wait for those summer nights in my back garden or at the pub with a nice cold cider, as well as exciting day trips with my boyfriend and best friends. I must say, I’m pretty damn excited for my holiday to Alicante in June – I can’t wait to relax by the pool, work on my tan, swim and eat copious amounts of tapas. May even try my best to dust off my Spanish-speaking skills – let’s hope I’ve still got it!

5. Make the most of my blog.

Unfortunately, due to impending assessments and lack of inspiration, my blog has taken a backseat recently, and so I would love to get into some sort of routine and document my summer in the best way possible – right here. I’ve got a few ideas up my sleeve, and I’ll have endless hours to fill when I’m not working and sleeping, so what better way to be productive than to take photos and write posts? Here I am *places hand on heart* making a promise to work hard on my blog and my writing and be reliable with posts. We can all enjoy this summer together!

IMG_1801

What are your plans for the summer?

Jess. X

5 thoughts on “Life: Summer 2017 Plans

Leave a Reply

