VISITING CHESTER: WHAT TO SEE/DO

“Collect moments, not things.”

One of my new year’s “resolutions” this year was to actually bite the bullet and start booking things that I want to do in 2017. Days out, weekends away, shows, etc. I have an awful habit of listing all these wonderful places I want to go and things I want to do and never doing any of it.

So, for my first adventure of the year, I booked a weekend away in Chester whilst I had some free time from uni.

img_1089

Travel 5/5: It was relatively easy to get there. The train itself only cost just over £20 for two return tickets, using railcards. We took the train directly from Wolverhampton to Chester, and once we got there, everything was in walking distance.  If you’re lazy then perhaps you might like things a little closer together, but for me it was perfect.

img_1096

Accommodation 4/5: We stayed in a classic Premier Inn, located an extremely short walk away from the train station. Nothing fancy, but it suited us perfectly. And for only £41 for a double room for the night, we couldn’t complain! The only minor issue I had was the struggle to warm the room up. But, then again, I suppose you can’t expect too much warmth in January!

img_3169

Food 5/5: On the Thursday evening, we had a wonderful 3 course meal at Pitcher & Piano. Yes, this is a chain, however, I have never visited one before and was thoroughly impressed with the service, quality of the food and the décor of the place. I enjoyed caramelised chicken thighs as a starter, the best sausages and mash I’ve ever had as a main, and shared a honeycomb cheesecake dessert (I was so full by this point but still had to try the sweets!).

img_3198

And, although still full from the night before, we managed a classic hotel all-you-can-eat hotel breakfast which had plenty of choice of cooked and continental, and sent us on our way nicely for a day of exploring. We also found a lovely little independent cafe called “49 Watergate” where we enjoyed a nice pot of Yorkshire Tea. img_3231

Things to do 4/5: As soon as we got there, we headed straight to Costa to warm up with a coffee and a raspberry & white chocolate muffin!img_3161
We then started some shopping; Chester has a lovely wide range of basic high street stores to luxury ones. My personal favourite was, of course, the Disney store, where I was lucky enough to be treated to a Sleepy dwarf teddy (yes, I am nearly 19). As well as shopping on this trip, we walked lots and took plenty of photos whilst exploring Grosvenor Park and the City Walls, as well as seeing the glorious cathedral. I would love to revisit in the summer as it was extremely cold!img_1010

Overall rating? 4.5/5

img_1069

Where should I go for my next adventure?

Jess. X

2 Comments

  1. Chester is such a beautiful city – I went to university there and loved every minute of it. If you go there again, you should walk the walls. 🙂 There’s a certain spot where, if you look off, there are copper rats at the top of someone’s chimney!

    If you’ve never been to Warwick, I would recommend it. The town is so lovely, not to mention there’s the castle in the middle of it. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

